Names of Nigeria 36 States and capital & their slogan

Nigeria is a sovereign state , it has 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja .

Nigeria is an African country on the Gulf of Guinea, with its capital city as Abuja where the seat of power is situated ….has many natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Protected areas such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park have waterfalls, dense rainforest, savanna and rare primate habitats.

Nigeria got her independence on the 1st of October in 1960. But back then there were only three regions namely northern , eastern and southern regions.

The country has three major languages and ethic group namely, Hausa; Igbo; Yoruba

For the purpose of our discussion we are going to concentrate on the names of her states and capital as well their various slogan.

List of Nigeria’s state capital and their slogan 

S/N    State   Capital        Slogan                    Year of Creation
1      Abia –    Umuahia    God’s own State          1991
2  Adamawa     Yola            Former slogan: Land of Beauty, Sunshine, and Hospitality
New Slogan: Highest peak of the nation 1991
3  Akwa Ibom      Uyo            Land of promise          1987
4  Anambra      Awka                Former slogan: Home for all
New slogan: Light of the nation 1991
5 Bauchi Bauchi Pearl of Tourism 1976
6 Bayelsa Yenagoa The Glory of All Lands 1996
7 Benue Makurdi Food basket of the Nation 1996
8 Borno Maiduguri Home of peace 1976
9 Cross River Calabar The people’s paradise 1967
10 Delta Asaba Former slogan: The Big Heart
New slogan: The Finger of God 1991
11 Ebonyi Abakaliki The salt of the Nation 1996
12 Edo Benin City The Heart Beat of the Nation 1991
13 Ekiti Ado – Ekiti Former slogan: Fountain of Knowledge
New slogan: Land of honour and integrity 1996
14 Enugu Enugu Coal City State 1991
15 Gombe Gombe Jewel in the Savannah 1996
16 Imo Owerri Old slogan: Land of Hope
New slogan: Eastern heartland 1976
17 Jigawa Dutse The New World 1991
18 Kaduna Kaduna Former slogan: Liberal State
new slogan: Centre of learning 1967
19 Kano Kano Centre of Commerce 1967
20 Katsina Katsina State of Hospitality 1987
21 Kebbi Birnin Kebbi Land of Equity 1991
22 Kogi Lokoja The Confluence State 1991
23 Kwara Ilorin The state of Harmony 1967
24 Lagos Ikeja Centre of Excellence 1967
25 Nasarawa Lafia The home of Solid Minerals 1996
26 Niger Minna The power State 1976
27 Ogun Abeokuta The Gateway State 1976
28 Ondo Akure The sunshine State 1976
29 Osun Oshogbo Old slogan: State of living spring
New slogan: Land of virtue 1991
30 Oyo Ibadan The pace setter State 1991
31 Plateau Jos Home of peace and tourism 1976
32 Rivers Port Harcourt Treasure base of the Nation 1967
33 Sokoto Sokoto Seat of the Caliphate 1976
34 Taraba Jalingo Nature’s gift to the Nation 1991
35 Yobe Damaturu Old slogan: The young shall grow
New slogan: Pride of the Sahel 1991
36 Zamfara Gusau Old slogan: Home of Agricultural Products
New slogan: Farming is our pride

To sum up, the country (Federal Capital Territory) is Abuja
Slogan : “Center of Unity”

If you fine this content helpful you can leave comment below…..


About admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and sponsored post: contact :
View all posts by admin →

Leave a Reply